Oden Institute's Annual Awards Ceremony Honors Faculty, Students, Staff

The Oden Institute's 2019 Awards Ceremony Sept. 9 honored 14 members of the Oden faculty, students, and staff, recognizing research, scholarship, and service.

The 2019 Grand Challenge Awardees were Tan Bui-Thanh, Leszek Demkowicz, Moriba Jah, and Ali Yilmaz.

This year's Peter O’Donnell Distinguished Researcher Award went to two faculty members, Tan Bui-Thanh and Ali Yilmaz. More information elaborating on their extensive Oden Institute research programs will appear next month.

CSEM 2018 Graduate Johann Rudi was recognized for winning the Oden Institute's 2019 Outstanding Dissertation Award.

The annual UT Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) Student Certificate of Recognition was awarded to Gopal Yalla for his service to the international professional organization that fosters the development of applied mathematical and computational methodologies needed in various application areas.

The Graham F. Carey Undergraduate Scholarship in Computational Science was awarded to Jennifer Zvonek, a senior double-majoring in Computational Engineering and Mathematics. Jennifer is enrolled in the CSE certification program, and was an Oden Institute Moncrief Intern in the summer of 2019, working under Dr. Ufuk Topcu.

Six staff members received University Service Awards in recognition of their length of service to the University. The awardees were:
Charlott Low – 35 years;
Sue Rodriguez – 15 years;
Melibea Jacaman – 10 years;
Todd Oliver – 10 years;
Derrick Ozuna – 10 years;
Roy Stogner - 10 years.

Posted: Sept. 9, 2019